Republican National Convention delayed due to Tropical Storm Isaac

The Republican National Committee will delay the start of the GOP national convention due to Tropical Storm Isaac.


The convention will convene on Monday and immediately recess until Tuesday afternoon, according to RNC Chairman Reince Priebus.

The delegates were scheduled to formally nominate Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan as the party’s presidential and vice presidential nominees, respectively, and to vote on the Republican platform, which outlines the party’s official stance on issues ranging from defense spending to abortion. It’s unclear how the delay would affect the convention’s schedule for the rest of the week.

The delay was announced after the National Hurricane Center issued a Tropical Storm Warning for Tampa, where heavy rain and winds reaching up to 60 miles per hour are expected by early Monday, prompting Florida Gov. Rick Scott to declare a state of emergency.

Tampa International Airport was operating at full schedule as of early Sunday. However, convention attendees could experience major flight delays as the weather condition deteriorates later today and through tomorrow. The convention is expected to bring in 50,000 visitors to the Tampa Bay area, according to organizers.

“Our chief priority is the safety of the residents of Florida, of those visiting the Convention, and all those in Gulf Coast states who may be impacted by Tropical Storm Isaac,” said Republican National Convention President and CEO Bill Harris. “We have been working closely with the campaign, the party, and state and local officials for months to ensure a successful, enjoyable convention.”

For the latest updates on Tropical Storm Isaac, please visit Florida’s Division of Emergency Management’s website.

Original convention schedule* released by the RNC: 

*Speakers and time subject to change

Monday, Aug. 27, 2012:  

2:00 pm

Chairman of the RNC Reince Priebus

Color Guard

Pledge of Allegiance

National Anthem:  The Oak Ridge Boys


Opening procedural steps, appointment of convention committees

Welcoming remarks, and House and Senate candidates and RNC auxiliaries

RNC Chairman Priebus

RNC Co-Chairman Sharon Day

Tampa Mayor Bob Buckhorn

Convention Chief Executive Officer William Harris

Chairman of Tampa Bay Host Committee Al Austin

Republican Congressional Candidates

State Delegate Barbara Comstock (VA)

Representative Tim Griffin (AR)

Republican Senate Candidates

Republican National Committee auxiliaries

Consideration of convention committee reports

RNC Chairman Reince Priebus

Committee on Credentials Chairman Mike Duncan

Committee on Permanent Organization Chairwoman Zoraida Fonalledas

Convention Permanent Chairman Speaker John Boehner, Presiding

Official Convention Photograph

Committee on Rules Chairman John Sununu

Committee on Resolutions Chairman Governor Bob McDonnell

Committee on Resolutions Co-Chairman Senator John Hoeven

Committee on Resolutions Co-Chairman Rep. Marsha Blackburn

Roll Call for Nomination of President of the United States

Roll Call for Nomination of Vice President of the United States

7:15 p.m.


7:45 p.m.


Remarks by House Speaker John Boehner

Remarks by Governor Rick Scott (FL)

Remarks by RNC Chairman Reince Priebus


Remarks by Senator Rand Paul (KY)

Various Speakers

Remarks by Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA)

To Be Announced

Remarks by Artur Davis and video

Remarks by Senate Republican Candidate Ted Cruz (TX)

Musical Act

Remarks by Governor Nikki Haley (SC)

Remarks by Mike Huckabee

Remarks by Mrs. Luce’ Vela Fortuno

Benediction by Sammy Rodriguez and adjournment.


Tuesday, Aug. 28 

7:30 p.m.

Convention convenes

Presentation of Colors

Pledge of Allegiance

National Anthem sung by Philip Alongi



Remarks by Janine Turner

Video and remarks by Mayor Mia Love (Saratoga Springs, UT), U.S. congressional candidate

Remarks by former U.S. Senator Rick Santorum

Segment to be announced

Remarks by U.S. Senator Kelly Ayotte (NH), accompanied by Jack Gilchrist

Remarks by Governor John Kasich (OH)


Remarks by Governor Mary Fallin (OK)


Remarks by Governor Bob McDonnell (VA), accompanied by Bev Gray

Remarks by Governor Scott Walker (WI)


Segment to be announced

Remarks by Governor Bobby Jindal (LA)


Remarks by Sher Valenzuela (small business owner, candidate for DE Lt. Governor)

Remarks by Governor Susana Martinez (NM)


Remarks by Governor Chris Christie (NJ)

Remarks by Mrs. Ann Romney

Benediction and adjournment


Wednesday, Aug. 29 

7:30 p.m.

Convention convenes

Call to order

Introduction of Colors

Pledge of Allegiance

National Anthem


Remarks by Senate Republican Leader and Convention Temporary Chairman Mitch McConnell (KY)

Performance by Beau Davidson

Segment to be announced

Remarks by Senator John McCain (AZ)


Remarks by Attorney General Pam Bondi (FL) and Attorney General Sam Olens (GA)

Remarks by Senator John Thune (SD)

Remarks by Governor Jeb Bush (FL)

Remarks by Senator Rob Portman (OH)

Remarks by Steve Cohen, Screen Machine

Remarks by Governor Luis Fortuño (PR)

Remarks by Governor Tim Pawlenty (MN)

Remarks by Condoleezza Rice


Remarks by vice presidential nominee Rep. Paul Ryan

Benediction by Archbishop Demetrios



Thursday, Aug. 30:  

7:30 p.m.

Convention convenes

Call to order

Introduction of Colors

Pledge of Allegiance

National Anthem


Remarks by U.S. Rep. Connie Mack


Remarks by Bob White, chairman of Romney for President campaign


Remarks by former Massachusetts Lt. Governor Kerry Healey


Remarks by Jane Edmonds, former Massachusetts Secretary of Workforce

Remarks by U.S. Senator Marco Rubio

Remarks by presidential nominee Mitt Romney


House Speaker John Boehner declares convention adjourned


Learn More:

2 Comments on “Republican National Convention delayed due to Tropical Storm Isaac

  1. Pingback: RNC announces updated convention schedule for Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday | What The Folly?!

  2. Marsha Blackburn Voted FOR:
    Omnibus Appropriations, Special Education, Global AIDS Initiative, Job Training, Unemployment Benefits, Labor-HHS-Education Appropriations, Agriculture Appropriations, FY2004 Foreign Operations Appropriations, U.S.-Singapore Trade, U.S.-Chile Trade, Supplemental Spending for Iraq & Afghanistan, Flood Insurance Reauthorization , Prescription Drug Benefit, Child Nutrition Programs, Surface Transportation, Job Training and Worker Services, Agriculture Appropriations, Foreign Aid, Debt Limit Increase, Fiscal 2005 Omnibus Appropriations, Vocational/Technical Training, Supplemental Appropriations, UN “Reforms.” Patriot Act Reauthorization, CAFTA, Katrina Hurricane-relief Appropriations, Head Start Funding, Line-item Rescission, Oman Trade Agreement, Military Tribunals, Electronic Surveillance, Head Start Funding, COPS Funding, Funding the REAL ID Act (National ID), Foreign Intelligence Surveillance, Thought Crimes “Violent Radicalization and Homegrown Terrorism Prevention Act, Peru Free Trade Agreement, Economic Stimulus, Farm Bill (Veto Override), Warrantless Searches, Employee Verification Program, Body Imaging Screening, Patriot Act extension., Supplemental Appropriations, Patriot Act Extension, Debt Deal, South Korea Trade Agreement, Omnibus Appropriations, Line-item Veto, Cyber Intelligence Sharing and Protection Act (CISPA)..

    Marsha Blackburn Voted AGAINST:
    Ban on UN Contributions, eliminate Millennium Challenge Account, WTO Withdrawal, UN Dues Decrease, Defunding the NAIS, Iran Military Operations defunding Iraq Troop Withdrawal, congress authorization of Iran Military Operations, Withdrawing U.S. Soldiers from Afghanistan, Libya Troop Withdrawal, Libya. stopping Indefinite Detention.

    Marsha Blackburn is my Congressman.
    See her “blatantly unconstitutional” votes at :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.