Trump signs bipartisan Russia sanctions bill

On Aug. 2nd, President Donald Trump signed H.R. 3364 “Countering America’s Adversaries Through Sanctions Act” into law, even as he claimed that the “flawed bill” contained “clearly unconstitutional provisions”.

“I nevertheless expect to honor the bill’s extended waiting periods to ensure that Congress will have a full opportunity to avail itself of the bill’s review procedures,” said Trump.

H.R. 3364 passed with overwhelming bipartisan support in both houses of Congress in July – a 419-3 vote in the House and a 98-2 vote in the Senate. Lawmakers approved the bill to prevent Trump from easing the Obama-era sanctions against Russia in light of the Special Counsel’s investigation into allegations that members of the Trump campaign colluded with Russian officials during the 2016 presidential election.

(Special Counsel Robert Mueller was appointed shortly after Trump fired former FBI Director James Comey, who was leading the into whether Trump and his associates colluded with Russia. Trump admitted that he fired Comey over the Russia investigation.)

The bill would restrict Trump’s ability to lift or alter U.S. sanctions against Russia imposed between 2014 and 2016 in response to Russia’s annexation of Crimea, the Kremlin’s ongoing efforts to destabilize Ukraine, and the Russian-backed cyberattacks aimed at disrupting and interfering with the 2016 U.S. presidential election.

If Trump wishes to alter the Russia sanctions, the bill requires his administration to file a report with Congress to justify the proposed changes. The bill gives Congress the right to review and hold hearings 30 days after the report’s submittal, and the bill imposes time limits on the president’s response to Congress’s joint resolution of disapproval on Russia sanctions.

List of additional Russian officials and entities sanctioned by President Barack Obama between 2014 and 2016:

* Yelena Mizulina (State Duma Deputy)
* Leonid Slutsky (State Duma Deputy)
* Andrei Klishas (Chairman of the Russian Federation Council Committee on Constitutional Law)
* Valentina Ivanovna Matviyenko (Federation Council Speaker)
* Dmitry Olegovich Rogozin (Deputy Prime Minister)
* Vladislav Yurievich Surkov (Aide to President Vladimir Putin)
* Sergey Glazyev (Advisor to President Vladimir Putin)
* Main Intelligence Directorate
* Federal Security Service
* Special Technology Center
* Zorsecurity (Esage Lab)
* Professional Association of Designers of Data Processing Systems
* Igor Valentinovich Korobov
* Sergey Aleksandrovich Gizunov
* Igor Olegovich Kostyukov
* Vladimir Stephanovich Alexseyev

Learn More:

House roll call vote #413 on H.R. 3364 “Countering America’s Adversaries Through Sanctions Act”

Senate roll call vote #115 on H.R. 3364 “Countering America’s Adversaries Through Sanctions Act”

Comments are closed.